1. Home
  2. Docs
  3. Plugin Features
  4. Member Claimed Listings
  5. Editor Setup

Editor Setup

Setup your Member Updater plugin

Enter license key

  • Go to Chamber Dashboard >> Member Updater Settings
    • Note: Member Updater plugin requires the most recent versions of Chamber Dashboard’s core plugins: Business DirectoryCRM and Member Manager to be installed & activated.
  • Copy your license key that was emailed with your plugin into the license page, then click ‘Save Changes’.
  • Then click ‘Activate’ to complete the license setup process

Create Editor pages

Your members must be registered as users on your WordPress site before they can edit their listing. Here are the pages you will need to setup to make this happen.

  • Claim my Business Page: Create a new page for registrations, add this shortcode [cdashmu_registration_form] to display a ‘Claim my Business’ (User Registration) Form.
  • Editor Login Page: Create a login page, add this shortcode [cdashmu_member_login_form] to display the Editor Login Form.
  • Edit My Business Page: Create an update/edit my business page, add this shortcode – [cdashmu_update_business] to display the ‘Edit My Business’ Form. This page will automatically display the login form for users who are not currently logged in.
  • Go to Chamber Dashboard >> Member Updater Settings page.
  • Map the URL’s of the pages you just created to the relevant field on the settings page.
Business Directory Claim Listing WordPress plugin

Pro Tip: You may decide not to use all of these pages on your site, based on the specific needs of your organization and members, but you must create and map them.

For Instance: With the Member Updater plugin activated, new members who fill out the Join Now form will be automatically registered as Business Editors on your site. They will already have ‘Claimed their Business’.  

Don’t forget to invite your Member Businesses to register one or more Business Editors for their Directory Listings!

NOTE: Member Updater lets the user make edits to their Business Listing from the front end of your site only. To help keep your site secure, when the Member Updater is activated, the WordPress Admin Menu will only be visible to admins from the front end of the site. 

Approve New Editors

Here’s what’s happening behind the scenes…When a new contact completes the Editor Registration Form, the Member Updater plugin creates the following:

  • A new WordPress User connected to a contact (‘People’ record in CRM)
  • A new ‘People’ record in the CRM connected to the Business Listing
    • To approve a new Editor, simply publish the new ‘People’ record

This approval process helps keep your Directory secure from unwanted participants.

For existing contacts or if the contact is already a user on your site, you will need to manually connect them as a Business Editor.


Step-by-Step Editor Approval Process

When a members fills out the Registration Form to claim their Business, a new record is created in the CRM (People) database. This record is held as a draft until the person has been confirmed as an Editor for the Business.

Approve a New Editor:

  1. Open the Business Listing from your site’s dashboard.
  2. Scroll down to ‘Connected People’.
  3. Follow the link thru to open the new People record that has been created for this user, then click ‘Publish’.
  4. The Editor is now approved to edit their own Business Listing.
    Note: The Member Updater plugin does not currently offer automatic notification of this approval. We hope to add this in a future version of the plugin.

Once an Editor has been approved/published, they can use the login page to login. Once they have logged in, they will be automatically directed to their Directory Listing where they can scroll down to find a link to the edit the page.

To set image size for logos and/or featured images go to Chamber Dashboard >> Member Updater Settings.

Note: the Membership Level will display on the edit screen, but is not editable by the member.

For more detail on how the process works visit our demo site.


Give access to update more than one Business Listing

Once an Editor has registered and is connected to a Business, they have been assigned the user role of Business Editor. This user can then be connected to more than one Business listing as a Business Editor, however this process must be done manually.

Was this article helpful to you? Yes No